Arena World Championship at BlizzCon: A Viewer’s Guide

October 15th by Blizzard Entertainment

In its 11th year, the Arena World Championship (AWC) has once again arrived on the biggest World of Warcraft esports stage of the year—BlizzCon 2018. The top-tier competition in the AWC has been dynamic since the launch of Battle for Azeroth, and the collision of regions and metas in Anaheim is sure to result in an explosive tournament.

What You Need To Know

  • Format: Each match will be a best of five until the grand finals, which will be a best of seven.
  • Map Pool: All 10 current Arena maps will be playable, including the new maps introduced in BfA—Mugambala and Hook Point.
  • Schedule:
    • Monday, October 29 from 11 a.m. PDT (7 p.m. CEST)
      The first day of competition will take place during BlizzCon Opening Week in front of a live audience at Blizzard Arena Los Angeles. Tickets are still available, so if you’re in the area or traveling early to BlizzCon, we’d love for you to join us!
    • Friday, November 2 from 12:15 p.m. PDT (8:15 p.m. CEST)
      Saturday, November 3 from 2:15 p.m PDT (10:15 p.m. CEST)

      Live from BlizzCon 2018 in Anaheim, California, the tournament will continue with round one of the lower bracket immediately following opening ceremonies. Visit the BlizzCon schedule page for more information.
  • Streams:


12 teams hailing from around the globe—Asia-Pacific, China, Europe, Latin America, and North America—have proved themselves in their regions, and now will be fighting for the title of AWC 2018 champions.

The AWC Top 12

Shen “Beethovenx” Wei
Dai “Yiyang” Yuhan
Wang “Straybloopers” Yux
Jiang “Alastorlol” Zhen

Carlos “Absterge” Correa
Jason “Pikaboo” Smith
Connor “Wizk” Torrence
Vincent “Jellybeans” Tran

Youri “Ratapai” van de Wetering
Vasili “Akrololz” Artemev
Maro-Simon “Maro” Franke
Artur “Vilaye” Riabtchenko

Nicholas “Fresh” Berton
Mitchell “Oxygen” Pritchard
Jia Xing “Yoske” Foong
Jordan “Featherfeet” Thompson

* Formerly Mad Dog

Oscar “Whaazz” Wulff
Josef “Chas” Stoianov
Rene “Swapxy” Pinkera
Shaun “Raiku” Meaney

Ryan “Trill” Costello
Michael “Samiyam” Hlubek
Richard “Mes” Simpson
Charles “Cdew” Dewland

Fu “Sagiy” Dongjian
Cui “Danisinner” Jinbo
Yan “Ppcat” Pan
Zhao “Dou” Guangyu

Marcus “Disyo” Jonsson
Miles “Relzah” Bennett-Davies
Thomas “Flappers” Gercs
Calum “Gelubaba” Fraser

Magnus “Wallirikz” Clausen
Martin “Loony” Moazzez
Emil “Zeepeye” Ek
Maro “Blizo” Molcan

* Formerly XRB To The Moon

Adam “Chanimal” Chan
Marcel “Wealthyman” Rodriguez
Cameron “Kubzy” MacDonald
Xavier “Chunli” Alan

Alexander “Alec” Sheldrick
Simon “Boetar” Heinks
Niki “Niksi” Hietala
James “Jaime” McKeever

Francisco “Hozitojones” Toriello
Jaime “Aiden” Martinez
Rodrigo “Pride” Yanez
Felipe “Shdwx” Gueicha

/Inspect the Pros on Twitch 


Those of you who tuned into the later part of the AWC Fall Season Cups for North America and Europe would have seen our new Twitch extension, /Inspect. This allows you to inspect your favorite Arena players in real time, just like you would in-game. So if you’re spending time in the Arena as you fight for your faction in BfA, you now have more reasons than ever to tune in and find out just how the pros dominate their foes.

Caster Team

Elliott “Venruki” Venczel
Adrian “Healingstat” Archer-Lock
Mohamed “Ziqo” Bashir
Rich Campbell
Sid “Supatease” Compston
Jared “Vhell” Coulston
Joe Fernandes

Remember, it all begins during BlizzCon Opening Week on October 29, rolling into BlizzCon 2018 over November 2–3. For access to the World of Warcraft Classic demo, panels and in-game rewards, get your hands on a BlizzCon Virtual Ticket, and make sure you follow us on Twitter and Twitch to stay up to date with all things World of Warcraft.